Tag Archives: ALA

Webinar on RDA Toolkit from ALA Publishing

(Please excuse cross postings)

From the RDA listserve:

ALA publishing is giving the same presentation we did at ALA midwinter as a Webinar for anyone interested to see a demo of the RDA Toolkit beta site.  We will give the same presentation twice at different times of day in hopes of covering as may people as possible.

These are the first of what we hope to be many RDA related webinars.

RDA Toolkit: A Guided Tour!

Join Troy Linker from ALA Publishing for an introductory guided tour of the RDA Toolkit website.  If you were at ALA Midwinter in Boston, you may already have taken this tour at the RDA Update Forum, the CC:DA meeting, or on the exhibit floor–but please feel free to join us again.

The webinar will be recorded and posted for anyone that is unable to participate live.  Details for accessing the recorded webinar video will be emailed to registries and posted widely.

The tour includes:

• Description of the RDA Toolkit

• Overview of the RDA Toolkit contents at launch and beyond

• Tour of the RDA Toolkit interface including Search, Browse, Bookmarks, Workflows, Maps, and more

• Launch timeline

• Details of the Complimentary Open Access period

• RDA Toolkit pricing for the US

• Linking from external products to the RDA Toolkit

Join us on February 8, – 21:00-22:00 GMT | 4:00pm-5pm EST | 3:00pm-4pm CST | 1:00pm-2pm PST

https://www2.gotomeeting.com/register/639494355

OR

Join us on February 9, – 16:00-17:00 GMT | 11:00am-12pm EST | 10:00am-11am CST | 8:00am-9am PST

https://www2.gotomeeting.com/register/991492442

Kind regards,

Troy Linker

Publisher, ALA Digital Reference

American Library Association

Leave a comment

Filed under cataloging, RDA

Web 3.0 and Linked Data

There is a huge amount of information that has been posted or is still coming out from the ALA conference in Chicago. This is one of them that I learned about on web 3.0 and linked data.

On her blog, Metadata Matters, Diane Hillman posted a short piece called Linked Data at ALA Annual. She and others gave presentations on how libraries can move from legacy to linked data.

The speakers were: Eric Miller (President, Zepheira, Inc.), me, Jennifer Bowen (Co-Principal Investigator, eXtensible Catalog Project, University of Rochester), Rebecca Guenther (Senior Networking and Standards Specialist, Network Development & MARC Standards Office, Library of Congress).

Diane provides some great links. One of them is to the report from Greg Landgraf for ALA that summarizes the session. The other link is to the presentations at the ALA wiki at : http://wikis.ala.org/annual2009/index.php/Grassroots_Programs.

Besides learning more about libraries can lead the linked data movement according to Eric Miller, this is good starting place to learn about linked data in general and the web 3.0.

Leave a comment

Filed under Linked data, RDA