My Blog

As my blog enters the new year, I took time to look at the type of posts that I would like to post here. Originally, I began this blog to become better informed on RDA. Over time, my posts became more varied to cover topics with a particular focus on technical services and cataloging but not necessarily. I definitely would like to continue this focus on technical services and cataloging. I will continue to post current happenings in this field, workshops, courses, e-forums, and the like. This doesn’t mean I won’t be posting anything on RDA. Once it gets closer to the big decision month, April, I’ll post information about RDA and the RDA Toolkit. With this in mind, I would like to add a topic that my posts have only touched on briefly. That is metadata.

I was talking to a colleague recently about reliable sources on the web about getting help with crosswalks, learning more about metadata, seeing what others are doing about choosing repositories, etc. I shared some of the sites that I go to, which is a large variety here and there. She wasn’t familiar with some of them. She knew others that I didn’t know myself. That got us thinking. Where is our community of metadata librarians? Where is our metadata AUTOCAT? Where is our best policies for metadata implementation and crosswalks for audiovisual materials like OLAC’s guide to DVDs and Blue Rays? There is definitely a lot of information out there on the web for those who have time to search far and wide. However, a central wiki or a few good, reliable, and stable sites for metadata librarians in general seems to be lacking. We talked about how nice it would be to have a Metadata4Lib just like Code4Lib and their resources. Of course that takes time, dedication, and a group of more than two. I’m not sure why there is no Metadata4Lib association, wiki, or resource. I’m not sure what it would look like but the idea seems really cool most likely because I’m a Metadata librarian. However, I do know a couple of resources and colleagues who know of other resources. And so this year, I wanted to also point my gaze toward metadata resources. I’d like to showcase websites, listservs, digital brown bags, courses, workshops, etc.

I want to thank all of you who have followed me up to now. And hope that you continue to do so this year.

2 Comments

Filed under General

2 responses to “My Blog

  1. Jen, I think Code4Lib is a great model to follow. Listen to my keynote for that conference and see if there’s some ideas there to use. Certainly one issue is that there are already established groups in ALA that do go some of the distance to meet our needs, but it cuts us off from the techies we need to talk more to and work with. Let’s keep talking about this! –Diane

    • Jen

      I will definitely watch out for your keynote presentation. I agree that there needs to be more interaction between the groups in ALA and techies. This type of interaction has really become essential in what we do with metadata and it is difficult to become a generalist who specializes in metadata and programming.

Leave a Reply

